Marine Life

The Twelve Days of Christmas (Marine Science Graduate Student Edition)

As a fun wrap-up to this semester (my first semester of graduate school!) I thought I’d create my own version of the 12 Days of Christmas, one that represents a little of the life of a marine science grad student.

PS: All of us at UndertheC will be taking a hiatus from blogging over the holidays, but we’ll resume posting in early January! Happy Holidays everyone!

PSS: ‘PI’ in the song below stands for Principal Investigator, who is the head of your lab and the person you work under as a grad student.

The Twelve Days of Christmas (Grad Student Edition)

On the first day of Christmas, my PI gave to meee…a sequence for my phylogenetic tree!

herpetology

xkcd comics

On the second day of Christmas, my PI gave to meee…two latex gloves

nitrile-exam-gloves-glove-1

On the third day of Christmas, my PI gave to meee…three grading pens….

ch870202

Calvin and Hobbes

On the fourth day of Christmas, my PI gave to meee…four research cruises

5_jeremytendsdivers_440

On the fifth day of Christmas, my PI gave to meee…five thesis drafts!

from phd comics

from phd comics

On the sixth day of Christmas, my PI gave to meee…six smelly samples

exploding whales are one of the many perks of being a marine scientist.

exploding whales are one of the many perks of being a marine scientist (Click on image to see the gif in all its glory)

On the seventh day of Christmas, my PI gave to meee…seven sharks a swimming

whale-shark_754_600x450

On the eighth day of Christmas, my PI gave to meee…eight divers diving

???????????????????????????????

On the ninth day of Christmas, my PI gave to meee…nine late nights researching

from phd comics

from phd comics

On the tenth day of Christmas, my PI gave to meee…ten significant results

image03_0

On the eleventh day of Christmas, my PI gave to meee…eleven pipettes pipetting

Image_33547

On the twelfth day of Christmas, my PI gave to meee…twelve diatoms a’growing

Thalassiosira sp.

Thalassiosira sp.

AND ALL TOGETHER NOW:

eleven pipettes pipetting

ten significant results

nine late nights researching

eight divers diving

seven sharks a’swimming

six smelly samples

five thesis drafts!

four research cruises

three grading pens

two latex gloves

and a sequence for my phylogenetic tree!!!

3 thoughts on “The Twelve Days of Christmas (Marine Science Graduate Student Edition)

  1. Pingback: ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas (Graduate Student Edition) | UNder the C

  2. Pingback: UNderthC’s Year in Review | UNder the C

  3. Pingback: A Bioluminescent Christmas | UNder the C

Leave a comment